CRAFT YOUR EASTER SHABBY CHIC!

Boston weather is finally warming up (for the moment..) and what a better way to start the season than a shabby chic furniture project!

 

I started by purchasing  an old cupboard from a local thrift store for about $10.  I knew this piece would be absolutely perfect for Easter, and I thought why not Shabby it up a bit! I purchased a few supplies from the local hardware and craft store and began my shabby chic masterpiece!

cabinet

Here’s what you will need to shabby chic wooden furniture:

Plaster of Paris

Paint &  Primer

Metallic Paint

Wax sealer

Paint brush

warm water

bucket

paint ruler

 

shabby supplies

To create my chalk board paint (which is often used for the look), I began by mixing  plaster of Paris with a little bit of warm  water to get a smooth milky consistency. I then mixed the plaster of Paris in with the white paint. You could easily buy chalk board paint at the store but its a little pricey :/ Plus its more fun to make your own and a lot cheaper!  When it comes to what your painting  it really is up to you. You do not have to do any real prep work to your furniture piece. As long as you have a solid wooden piece  you are ready to go! You might want to wipe it down if its a little dusty. Now let the painting begin!

paint-over-chalkboard-paint_thumb

After letting my two coats of chalk board paint dry, I lightly brushed the areas of my cupboard that has nicks and bruises with metallic paint. This step is crucial for the shabby look! Afterwards I took my sanding block and gently struck the areas where I placed the metallic paint. This process gives you a more shabby -worn look.

shabby chic

Viola now you have a new custom shabby chic furniture piece to show off at your next event! I immediately used mine for a mini Easter shoot with a friends niece! Check out how in the pics below!

shabby1       shabby6

shabby3      shabby4

This was my first attempt at a ribbon banner, sooo freakin cute! Not bad for my first time. And our little model Kaylahni was an absolute diva 🙂

shabby2   shabby5

           S.H.E. EVENT PLANNING HOPES EVERYONE HAS A HAPPY EASTER!

We loved to know what you think about our shabby chic project or simply share your Easter craft project with us!

Leave a Reply

